A loved one!

Continuing with the series, “She just laughed away”, this is the narration of Agatha, a girl who loses her mother and yet, takes inspiration out of the last gift provided to her and continues with her strife!

The sound of the cold breeze resonated with my beating heart. With thoughts flying out of my head like feathers scattered in the wind, I wished to collect the broken pieces and exhale out the remorse, pain and agony. The sharp winds made me dizzy for the only air I was inhaling was of bitterness, distrust and lost faith. There were bubbles of resonating voices haunting my soul and there were reflections of the past scrolling in my mind. I stood up from the ground and brushed off the grass from my clothes, trying to hold back my tears but in a moment, I felt as if I had lost all my senses. I broke down, I screamed, I cried and I found myself crippled by the manacles of fear, anger and guilt. I couldn’t save her. I hopelessly cried, again and again, wanting the Gods to hear, “My mother was a warrior and she fought like a lion, she fought, fought hard, very hard, but the pain and hopelessness shadowed her strife, she dared to live but you mercilessly took her life”. I shouted and cried, sobbed and moved towards the Banyan tree, opposite to the Hospital room where my mother took her last breath!

Looking into the mirror of time, all I could see was an image of my mother, warn and pale, shouting loud, struggling to breathe, imploring me to come closer. She was restless and she was hopeless. It seemed as if she knew this day would come. It seemed as if she had prepared herself for this day, prepared herself for dying. She was gaping, her lungs were giving way. I rushed to her and sat beside her, wanting to hug her for one last time, holding back my tears in my watery eyes. Struggling, there was the women who had given me birth, held me in her gentle arms, showed me the beacon of light when the night fell, taught me how to love and yet, I couldn’t save her. There were tears and drops of perspiration rolling down my face. I gently touched her forehead and she closed her eyes. The struggle, the pain, her longingness for life and the warmth in her body, all faded away. She was cold. Before taking her last breath, she held into my hand, a red stone of graphite which had always been precious to her heart. She knew there was magic in the stone, she knew there was magic in me, she had told me before and she whispered to me during her last breath, “never lose hope”.

I held the stone tightly in my hand and took a deep breath. One year ago, when she was diagnosed with lung cancer, my mother had found this graphite stone in the garden. She always felt as if the stone had vibrations, asking her to be brave and strong. When she looked into the stone, she always found her reflection. Even during difficult times, times when she was in utter pain, sometimes lying unconscious in the hospital, she always held the stone tightly in her hands. She always felt that all her fears, all her pain vanished when she had it with her. I took a deep breath and looked into the stone, finding my reflection. When I pointed it towards the sunlight, all my eyes could see was a laughing picture of my mother, reminding me to stay strong and not get lost in the whirlwind of emotions. It reminded me not to wallow in the valley of despair but to live in the present bestowed upon me, to live life! Not all get the opportunity to live it to the fullest. It reminded me to live in the present, for it reminded me of my mother, her teachings, her values, her laughs. She was looking at me from above and she wanted me to stay strong, she wanted me to be brave. I knew what it meant as the painful and early death made me realise that human life is not immortal. I miss my mother and I’ll miss her for life. I cherish our beautiful memories and start with my strife, once again, with just one thought in mind, “Kal Ho Na Ho”!  I love you Mom.

Family is special. Having the privilege of being around our loved ones not only gives us hope in the darkest of times but enlightens our soul when the whole world is left behind. Let’s celebrate this power of love, let’s celebrate this power of wisdom. Let the sky above be the reflection of the light within and let the ground beneath remind us of our roots, our loved ones and let’s embrace them with open arms and laughing souls.

Thanks for reading💖

Stay safe and stay strong,

From the Writer’s eye to the Reader’s watch,

Ojasvi. 💕

I hope you liked it💖

Pen down your thoughts in the comments section down below. 😊

11 thoughts on “A loved one!

  1. Wow!
    So heart touching. 💖💖

    I think you got this idea by seeing that stone you always keep in your pencil pouch 😃😃

    Am I right!!

    Like

    1. Thank you Samarth!! 💖
      Wow, I’m speechless! I literally didn’t realise that anyone would remember it but it’s true, that same stone was my inspiration 😁💕
      Although I’ve lost it now but the vibe remains 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This makes me cry😭
    She is so strong and brave.
    Ojasvi it was beautiful , I think it touched each and every person’s heart❤️ who read it.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started